W. Mark Giles Nominated for $40,000 Amazon.ca’s First Novel Award

Congratulations to Mark Giles, Sessional Instructor for English and Humanities in the School of Critical + Creative Students, for being shortlisted for the $40,000 Amazon.ca First Novel Award Co-Presented with The Walrus for his novel Seep (Anvil Press).

To celebrate 40 years of the First Novel Award, the winner will receive $40,000 and finalists will receive $4,000

The winner will be announced in Toronto on Thursday, May 26.

Good luck Mark!

About Seep (Anvil Press)
Dwight Eliot was born on a baseball diamond in the small town of Seep during a dugout-clearing brawl between his hometown team, The Seep Selects, and a visiting team of barnstorming Cuban All-Stars. Decades later, Dwight returns to town only to witness his childhood home being moved down the highway on the back of a huge flatbed truck.Seep is being dismantled, and the land is being redeveloped as a master-planned recreational townsite to complement a nearby First Nations casino. In the face of the town’s erasure, Dwight tries to preserve its stories, and in so doing, comes to question his own. And then his wayward brother, Darcy, arrives on his doorstep with the force of a bus crash. Seep limns the tension between land development and landscape, trauma and nostalgia, dysfunction and intimacy in a narrative of twenty-first century Canada.

About the First Novel Award
Established in 1976, the First Novel Award program has a long history honouring and beginning the careers of Canada's favourite novelists. Previous winners include: Michael Ondaatje (1976), Joan Barfoot (1978), Joy Kogawa (1981), W.P. Kinsella (1982), Nino Ricci (1990), Rohinton Mistry (1991), Shyam Selvadurai (1994), Anne Michaels (1996), Margaret Gibson (1997), Andre Alexis (1998), Alan R. Wilson and David Macfarlane (co-winners, 1999), Eva Stachniak (2000), Michael Redhill (2001), Mary Lawson (2002), Michel Basilières (2003), Colin McAdam (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Madeleine Thien (2006), Gil Adamson (2007), Joan Thomas (2008), Jessica Grant (2009), Eleanor Catton (2010), David Bezmozgis (2011), Anakana Schofield (2012) and Wayne Grady (2013).

>>> Check out the Amazon News Release

>>> Check out the Walrus Release