

General Faculties Council March 20, 2024 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 532

Agenda

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated		
Alberta University of the Arts (AUArts) is situated on the ancestral land of the Siksikaitsitapi / Blackfoot which includes Siksika, Kainai, and Piikani Nations, and the shared territories of the Tsuut'ina / North Dene Sarcee and Îyârhe Nakoda / Stoney which includes Bearspaw, Chiniki, and Goodstoney Nations. This land is also home of the Métis Nation of Alberta District 5 and 6. The City of Calgary has long been called Moh'kins'tsis by the Siksikaitsitapi, Guts'ists'i by the Tsuut'ina, and Wîchîspa by the Îyârhe Nakoda.						
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Doz	Document	2:00		
2.	Conflict of Interest Declaration	Doz	Verbal	-		
3.	February 14, 2024 Minutes for Approval	Doz	Document	-		
4.	Report from the President and CEO	Doz	Verbal	2:05		
	Action Items					
5.	Repealing of the Third Attempt Procedure and the Degree Requirements Procedure	Ansari	Document	2:10		
6.	A. Approval of the Academic Quality Assurance Policy and the Credit Curriculum Approval Procedure and Repealing the Minor Procedure and the Credit Curriculum Procedure	Goldie	Document	2:20		
	B. Approval of Associated changes to the GFC Standing Committee Structure and Terms of Reference	Goldie/Doz				
	Information Items					
7.	Reports from the Deans 1. Academic Programs 2. Students 3. Innovation, Learning and Development	Goldie Ortiz Hamilton	Presentation Document Document	2:40		
8.	Students' Association Report	Covey/Song	Document	2:55		



9.	Board of Governors Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
10.	School Council Minutes/Notes: 1. MFA Committee – January 2. SCD – November & February 3. SCCS – January 4. SVA/SCEM – January	In-Package Only	Document	-
11.	CC: Curriculum Revisions SCCS BDES WIL DES 4XX (from Oct)	In-Package Only	Document	-
12.	AUArts Good News Moment	All	Verbal	3:00
13.	Adjournment Next Meeting: April 17, 2024	Doz	Verbal	3:10

Regrets and Questions: Cherie Tutt, University Secretary cherie.tutt@auarts.ca

Attendance

Name	Term	Attendance/Notes
Voting Members (28) – Quorum 15		
Statutory Ex Officio Members: PSLA 23(a)		
Dr. Daniel Doz, Chair	Virtue of office	
Dr. Janis Goldie, Vice Chair	Virtue of office	
Arif Ansari	Virtue of office	
Nicole Hamilton	Virtue of office	
Michelle Housley	Virtue of office	
Jamie Leong-Huxley	Virtue of office	
Dr. Alex Link	Virtue of office	
Scott Powell	Virtue of office	
Dr. Rob Stone	Virtue of office	
Statutory Elected Members: PSLA 23(b), 24(1)		
School of Communication Design		
Karl Geist	June 30, 2024	
Nick Johnson	June 30, 2026	
Silas Kaufman	June 30, 2024	
Mike Kerr	June 30, 2024	
School of Craft and Emerging Media		
Marty Kaufman	June 30, 2024	
Vacant		
Anahita Mosayebi	June 30, 2026	
Paul Robert	June 30, 2024	
School of Visual Art	_	
Alana Bartol	June 30, 2026	
Richard Brown	June 30, 2024	

General Faculties Council March 20, 2024 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 532

Lisa Lipton	June 30, 2026	
School of Critical and Creative Studies		
Vacant		
By Degree Area (4): PSLA 25		
Laurel Johannesson	June 30, 2026	
Jamie Kroeger	June 30, 2026	
Suzanne Lemermeyer	June 30, 2026	
Dr. Kara Stone	June 30, 2026	
Statutory Student Members: PSLA 23 (c)(i)		
Quynn Covey	May 31, 2024	
Juli Song	May 31, 2024	
Appointed Members: PSLA 23 (d), 25		
Mackenzie Kelly-Frère	February 14,	
	2027	
Other Members: PSLA 25		
Wendy Harding	Virtue of office	
Dr. Pablo Ortiz	Virtue of office	
Non-Voting Member (1)		
Cherie Tutt, University Secretary	Virtue of office	
GFC Meeting Resource Member		
Su Soyer, Academic Coordinator,	Virtue of office	
Undergraduate Studies		
Guests		
Observers		