Alberta University of the

Curriculum Subcommittee: Terms of Reference

1. Establishment, Mandate and Role of the Committee

The Academic Planning and Oversight Committee (APOC) is responsible for quality assurance of academic programs and academic concerns relating to the University as a whole. The APOC hereby establishes a subcommittee called the Curriculum Subcommittee (the Subcommittee), and delegates to it the authorities set out herein. The Subcommittee serves as a vetting and advisory group to APOC in respect of the creation, modification, or termination of programs and changes to courses and curriculum.

2. Areas of Responsibility

- 1. Review and Recommend to APOC:
 - a. the creation, modification, suspension, and termination of all degree programs.
 - b. the creation, modification, suspension, and termination of all concentrations/minors.
 - c. the creation, modification, and deletion of undergraduate and graduate courses.

3. Composition

Voting Members (8)

- Chair: Dean, Academic Programs
- Four (4) School Directors, one from each of SCEM, SCCS, SCD and SVA
- Two (2) additional full-time academic staff members, one appointed from the BFA degree Schools and one from the BDes degree School, and one of these members must also be a member of the MFA in Craft Media Committee
- Registrar

Non-Voting Member (1)

- Secretary, General Faculties Council

4. Quorum

At least 50% of the voting members of the committee, plus one.

5. Terms of Office

- a. Directors of Schools will hold membership for the duration of their appointment.
- b. Faculty terms will be for three (3) years and can be renewed.

6. Reporting to GFC

The Committee shall report regularly to APOC.

Effective May 1, 2024